Gloria De Piero MP with constituent Keith Stanley, of the NUM, at the Houses of Parliament.

MPs and NUM make joint call for miners’ pension trustees to attend meeting


MPs representing coalfield communities and the National Union of Mineworkers have written a joint letter to the trustees of the Mineworkers’ Pension Scheme, calling for a meeting to discuss the arrangement that has seen the Government receive £3.4bn in its role as scheme guarantor.

Ashfield MP Gloria De Piero, National Secretary of the NUM, Chris Kitchen, and 22 other Labour MPs have signed the letter, which asks the trustees to meet in order to review the pension scheme’s surplus sharing arrangement.

Gloria De Piero MP with constituent Keith Stanley, of the NUM, at the Houses of Parliament.
Gloria De Piero MP with constituent Keith Stanley, of the NUM, at the Houses of Parliament.

This arrangement currently sees any surplus shared 50-50 between the Government and scheme members.

Since 1994 the Government has received £3.4bn as a result of this arrangement, while paying nothing into the scheme.

The MPs and union are asking for the trustees to enter discussions to review this arrangement so that former miners and their widows benefit from the scheme’s success to a greater and fairer extent.

Gloria said: “When this arrangement was made, nobody anticipated that the Government would make this much money.

“The cost of the guarantee has been more than paid back so now I think that it is time we looked at reviewing this and making sure the ex-miners and their widows get a fairer slice of the pie.

“I hope the trustees will meet with us to discuss the arrangement.”

MPs who have also signed the letter include:

Yvette Cooper, MP for Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford
Conor McGinn, MP for St Helens North
Chris Elmore, MP for Ogmore
Alan Meale, MP for Mansfield
Ian Lavery, MP for Wansbeck
Nick Smith, MP for Blaenau Gwent
Angela Smith, MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge
Ruth Smeeth, MP for Stoke-on-Trent North
Yvonne Fovargue, MP for Makerfield
Sharon Hodgson, MP for Washington and Sunderland West
Sarah Champion, MP for Rotherham
Dame Rosie Winterton, MP for Doncaster Central
Vernon Coaker, MP for Gedling
Carolyn Harris, MP for Swansea East
Dave Anderson, MP for Blaydon
Lilian Greenwood, MP for Nottingham South
Michael Dugher, MP for Barnsley East
Dan Jarvis, MP for Barnsley Central
Ed Miliband, MP for Doncaster North
Caroline Flint, MP for Don Valley
Mary Creagh, MP for Wakefield
Chris Bryant, MP for Rhondda



Comments are closed.